The Prophet Oded and the Good Samaritan

Alastair's Adversaria

The Good Samaritan by Aimé Morot (1880) The Good Samaritan by Aimé Morot (1880)

In the #Luke2Acts Bible study on Twitter, we recently studied Luke 10, with the parable of the Good Samaritan and Jesus’ visit to Mary and Martha. Rereading these accounts a number of things struck me. I thought that I would post a few remarks here for others’ reflections.

One of the things that has long intrigued me about the parable of the Good Samaritan was the specific geographical references—Jerusalem, Jericho, and Samaria. These details became even more interesting to me when, a few years ago, they jumped out at me from a reading of 2 Chronicles 28. Today, with some help from Bronwyn Lea, I think that I got a better handle on the connection.

2 Chronicles 28 describes the sinfulness of king Ahaz of Judah. On account of Ahaz’s sin and the sin of Judah, they were delivered into the hands…

View original post 1,468 more words

Leave a Reply

